Branding – what is it and how is it done?

Posted on January 20, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized |

No, seriously.  How do you go about branding a blog?

When I think of a Brand I think of Nike, of Google, of Ford.  I don’t think of ME as a brand.  Why would I?  What have I done?  I write a blog, and that’s about all.  So…  How does a person begin to brand themselves? 

John Chow became famous through his blogs.  As did Darren Rowse.  However, if you speak to the average Joe about blogging – they may know about John, but say Darren, and it’s lost on them.  (I’m talking really average Joes here…)  But say “Problogger” and they know exactly what you’re speaking of.

I’m trying to wrap my head around becoming a Brand from the start, rather than waiting until I have a billion readers and am making gobs of cash and then saying that “Daria” is my brand.  On that same note, I should probably think of something a bit more creative than that…

Does a brand need to have a logo?  A symbol to which people can associate to my brand?  Probably.  I don’t know what IHOP’s logo is, but I certainly know what Microsoft’s is…

How do you go and choose something like that?  There is a pretty neat article on Twitter Branding Tips over on the Career Rocketeer blog.  I think I’ll have to check out more of their posts.  Maybe they can help with my dilemma.

**NOTE: This Blog post is a work in progress.  So far, it’s a bit of a rant, rather than a full on article.  I do want to write more, but I feel that maybe I can get some input from everyone out there and incorporate YOUR Branding techniques into my writing.  I will edit it through the next day or so, while I do some more research on what can be done.  

Stay Tuned!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Branding – what is it and how is it done?”

RSS Feed for Birth of a Blog Comments RSS Feed

Remember Julie’s blog that led to the movie, Julie and Julia? That was an interesting focus. There’s a blog called Mom101. Pretty popular. I think you need a focus that you are passionate about and it intrigues readers. The use of tagging and RSS feeds makes it easy to get it connected.
Bonnie

I have no idea about this, but it interests me. Not so much for myself (though wouldn’t it be sweet to get paid for your thoughts!?) but mainly because I have seen a few blogs change as they became more branded. For example, there is a certain mom of multiples that I have followed for a few years. Originally, her posts were very light hearted and always focused on the kids…but as her blog grew, she started adding ads (which I’m totally not against, I think it’s a great way for a SAHM to earn a little extra $$) and then got a twitter. Now it seems like she’s just thinking of new ways to get you to click on her blog as many times as possible (because she gets paid per click, in part). So she will tweet that she posted a new blog, but then like every 5 hours, she posts some quirky or interesting question which perks your interest, except the link is just a link back to her original post.

Anyway, long story to say that I think it’s important that the person remains themselves. That they don’t blog to earn money…they should earn money because they are a genuine blogger. Just my thougts!

Thanks for stopping by my blog today, too!

Christina
the subfertile frugalista
iclw

Good luck with your branding exploration.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

